• Me2We
  • Posts
  • How to Compare Yourself Right

How to Compare Yourself Right

Monday Me’s

How to Compare Yourself Right

It’s human nature to want to compare yourself to something. While gurus talk about how you should compare yourself with yourself, they never talk about HOW to compare with yourself. Today, we’re going to dive into a simple system that you can use to help you compare yourself right.

Today’s Topics:

  • Celebrate, Then Raise It

  • Calibrate Your Life Compass

  • Question for you

Celebrate, Then Raise It

"Celebrate what you’ve accomplished, but raise the bar a little higher each time you succeed."

— Mia Hamm

Never forget the small wins you have accomplished throughout the day. With each win, it brings you closer to your goal, but of course, you also cannot get comfortable with doing the same thing over and over again. Raise the bar just by a little bit each time you succeed so that you can push yourself to greater heights. A 1% improvement each day can go a long way.

To give a bit of a personal story: I wanted to wake up earlier because I love daylight. I used to wake up at around 8:30 AM, so I changed my alarm to wake me up 1min earlier each day until I reached my target goal. The reason I did this was I knew if I did a big jump in one day, I will end up faltering because I would be too tired to function during the day. After 1 month, I was waking up at 8 AM without any problems, and nowadays I’m waking up at 7:15 AM. Do not underestimate the power of these tiny improvements. They add up.

Calibrate Your Life Compass

For the longest time, I could never grapple with the idea of comparing myself with myself. I was too forgetful and always forgot about the small achievements that I have accomplished.

That’s when I developed Calibration Compass, a system that helped me document and reflect on the wins I have done for myself while also giving me space to reflect and plan my trajectory.

I started to see the growth that I was making for myself, big or small, and began to feel proud of myself for everything that I have accomplished.

Calibration Compass Framework:
  • What will make you proud 6 months from now?

  • Break that goal down into smaller steps

  • Create a 6-month blueprint — This is your direction

  • Each month make a “Monthly Intent”

  • Plan your weeks based on the Monthly Intent

  • Document ALL wins in a Daily Wins section

  • Reflect on your wins. Ask yourself what you can do better tomorrow

  • When the week ends, reflect on the Daily Wins of the past 7 days

Calibration Compass will only be free until the end of the week, so be sure to grab a copy now!

This system has truly changed my approach with life and I’m so excited that I am able to share this with you all.

For those who have gotten Calibration Compass already, please reply to this e-mail to let me know your thoughts on it (both negative and positive).

Question for you to journal

Could you compare your specific personal tomorrow with your specific personal yesterday? Could you use your own judgment, and ask yourself what that better tomorrow might be?

Jordan Peterson, “12 Rules for Life”

Reflect: Use this as a journal prompt for you to write about your thoughts. Reply to this email with your thoughts.

In Case You Missed it…

On the last Monday Me, we talked about how to set a proper goal.

Proper goals help you push yourself forward and create a “Goal Cycle.”

Here’s the general framework I discussed:

Goal Cycle:

  1. Set Personal, Controllable Goals

  2. Shift Your Mindset

  3. Plan and Take Action

  4. Build Resilience Through Reflection

  5. Align Actions with Long-Term Goals

Read more Monday Me Posts for realigning with yourself and Wednesday We Posts for actionable advice to improve relationships with others!

That’s all for this Monday Me. Reply to this e-mail any findings you have and let me know what topics you would like me to explore!

In the meantime, Stay Smiling 😊

Linda

Reply

or to participate.